Our board

kevin-smith-NNTC-board-chairKevin Smith – Chair

Kevin Smith is Chair of the NNTC board and has been Chief Executive Officer of Queensland South Native Title Services since 2008.

Kevin holds traditional connections to Ugar (Stephen Island) and Erub (Darnley Island) in the Torres Strait, and has over 28 years of professional experience in Indigenous affairs. He has held senior positions with the National Secretariat of Torres Strait Islander Organisations, the Brisbane Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Service, the National Native Title Tribunal and Aboriginal Hostels Limited. He holds qualifications in both law and business management from the University of Queensland, and was admitted as a solicitor in 1994.


Kado-Muir-Deputy-Chair-NNTCKado Muir – Deputy Chair

Kado Muir is Deputy Chair of the NNTC. He is a Ngalia Traditional Owner and a Wati – a Goldfields Aboriginal
cultural and community leader, and an anthropologist/archaeologist with many years’ experience working in Aboriginal heritage, language preservation and maintenance, traditional ecological/education and native title research.

Kado is also Chair of the Wakamurru Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC, the PBC for Manta Rirrtinya Native Title Determination and the former founding CEO of the Goldfields Land and Sea Council. He also operates a number of businesses including an Aboriginal art business, a Sandalwood company, and a heritage consultancy business. He is a long-time activist for bi-lingual and two way education, environmental and cultural heritage protection and promoting alternative community based enterprises, especially through his PhD university partnerships for research on Wealth in First Nations.


Gail Reynolds-Adamson

Gail Reynolds-Adamson is the Managing Director of Indigenous Consulting Group, an Aboriginal-owned, specialist training and strategic development company.  Gail is an Esperance Nyungar person living in Esperance, and a descendant of the Mirrning People (“Whale people”), whose country stretches along the southern coast to the South Australian border.

Gail is the Chairperson of Esperance Tjaltjraak Native Title Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC (ETNTAC), a position she has held since the Corporation’s establishment in 2015, Chairperson of Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission (GEDC) Board,.  Additionally, Gail is Chairperson of South East Aboriginal Health Service, Director on the Horizon Power Board and the Regional Development Trust Board and a board member of National Native Title Council.


Tony KellyTony-Kelly-headshot

Tony is the Chief Executive Officer of First Nations Legal and Research Services. He has nearly four decades experience working with Traditional Owners across the country. He is passionately committed to ensuring Traditional Owners have their rights and interests respected and self-determination recognised.

Tony’s ability to collaborate with people to find solutions to complex problems under rapidly shifting circumstances is second to none. He brings together a history of managerial and field experience that encompasses environmental science, community development and law. This combined with his governance experience on a range of not-for-profit boards makes him ideal for the NNTC board.


Peter Windie

Mr Peter Windie is Co-Chairperson – Yamatji Region of the Board of Directors and Chairperson of the Yamatji Regional Committee for Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation (YMAC).  YMAC is the native title representative body for the Yamatji and Pilbara regions of Western Australia.
Peter is a Thudgari man who played an integral leadership role in his peoples’ Native Title Determination in 2009. He was also an applicant on the combined Thiin-Mah Warriyangka Tharrkari Jiwarli native title claim, determined in 2019.
Peter lives in Gascoyne Junction in Western Australia, and is a well-respected community leader in the region. In early 2020, he was appointed Director to Pilbara Solar, a renewable energy company which develops commercial renewable energy projects that offer an equity position for Traditional Owners..

Peter became a Director of the National Native Title Council in 2018.  He is passionate about Country and the depth Aboriginal people are spiritually connected to the land.


Melvin Farmer                                                                                       melvin-farmer-bio

Melvin is Chairperson of the Western Desert Lands Aboriginal Corporation.

He is a Walakaja Elder and his two language groups are Manyjilyjarra and Pintupi.



Joshua Haynes

Joshua Haynes is a Yandruwanha Yawarawarka man.

He is Deputy Chairperson of South Australian Native Title Services, Chair of the Marree and Innamincka NRM Group and a Director of the Cooper and Eromanga Basin Aboriginal Executive Committee.


Ned David

Ned David is a Kulkalaig man from Tudu (Warrior) Island in the Torres Strait.

Ned is the current Chair of several organisations in the Torres Strait, including the Gur A Baradharaw Kod (GBK)
Sea and Land Council, the Torres Strait Islanders Regional Education Council (TSIREC), and the Magani Lagaugal Registered Native Title Body Corporate.

He has extensive experience working in both government and private sectors, and a background in education, working with young people in Torres Strait.


Rhonda (Jake) Jacobsen

Rhonda (Jake) is a Ngempa Kamilaroi woman and the Manager of the Engagement and Development Support Team at the North Queensland Land Council.

She has more than 15 years experience working in Native Title Representative Bodies and Service Providers.